Jerusalem Export House - Bringing The Holy Land to the World since 1969

The History of the Cross of Jerusalem

The Cultural Appeal of the Wisdom of the Ages

While there can be no deeper symbolism that a cross or crucifix depicts your faith, none is as strengthening as the Jerusalem cross. Don't to be confused with the Lorraine cross, the Jerusalem cross is often called the Crusaders or Five Folds cross.

Dating back to the 11th and 12th century, established Christianity by the French Crusaders of Normandy was mandated when Jerusalem was captured. However, as an already established Catholic sect, the Crusaders brought with them their own customs and religiously scholar epithets as were derived from their spoken langue d’oeil or לשון העין. 

A loose English translation is “tongue of eye” and can be attributed to what we see is what we speak. The knowledge shown in the cross of Jerusalem can now be known to speak volumes of its representation.

As you can see, the Five-fold variant has four small quadrant crosses in the corner of the center cross itself. These 4 crosslets represent the spread of Christianity to the four corners of the world.



By the same token, the four crosses are said to be the symbols of the 4 evangelists of the New Testament: Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John with Christ being the central cross or crucifix. The 4 smaller crosses are to symbolize either the four Gospels or the four directions in which the Word of Christ spread from Jerusalem.

Others adhere to the recognition of the five wounds of the crucified Christ, the largest being the spear driven into His side. For it is believed that by the touch of the blood brought forth from this spear healed the Roman Soldier, Longinus, who fell with full repentance of his sin and was thus saved. This is another correlation to the langue l’oil the tongue of the eye. To confess your sins and accept forgiveness just as the blind, the sinners who turned a blind eye to the teachings of our Savior.


Olive Wood Crucifixes

Many of today’s followers also use this cross as a significant devotion to the Eight beatitudes of the Holy word of Christ in his teachings.

  • Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
  • Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.
  • Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.
  • Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be filled.
  • Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy’
  • Blessed are pure in heart, for they shall see God.
  • Blessed are the peacemakers for they shall be called children of God.
  • Blessed are they who are persecuted for righteousness’s sake; for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.[1][1] Matthew 5:3-10

Anointing oil - we carry wide verities of scents

Crown of thorns


The Crown of Thorns represents the suffering and agony of Jesus on the cross for the sole purpose of achieving salvation of humanity on earth.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published